Jennifer Lohr
Series:
Children’s Book
Paperback: 28 pages
Publisher: An Ancient Approach (October 25, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0692284990
ISBN-13: 978-0692284995
Product Dimensions: 7 x 0.1 x 10 inches

Ok. This is a hard review to write. I don’t often find myself wanting to do a negative review, in fact in my history I have only written two reviews that I suppose would be less than positive. We have so many limited books for kids in heathenry, those that we have are usually not exactly geared to young kids but usually is written for kids who are able to read complex language and text.

Most of what we have with some exceptions, is really meant for a parent and child to read together. This book is specifically designed for kids to read themselves, however when they do, it is significantly lacking in information. It is so vague and general that honestly a parent with a Google search could have written better. The material is not exactly what I would say is heathen or Asatru, its more generic.

The pictures in the book are posted in without citation (which is a big issue to me) and seem “stock” in nature. They don’t really ‘add’ anything or help to clarify what the subject matter is about.

 

 

 

 

 

The information about the gods which only includes two (Odin and Thor) is limiting but accurate. I just find the book falls very flat on providing information. I had my daughter who is eight, read the book and asked her what she thought about it. She said it didn’t really teach her anything other than that there are different paths.

The book could be used as a ‘leaping’ point for parents to encourage more growth but honestly I think parents are able to provide this information on their own or likely already have exposed kids to a number of these concepts. I just feel it kind of disappointed me but for a generic book, I suppose its not that bad.

I would rate this a 3 because it sort of does a job of providing a very general idea of heathenry, but honestly it could have been better.

 

 

 

