Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Peace and Good Seasons: A Devotional for Frey by Nornoriel Lokason
Based on the Sept. 2014 print edition

I ran across this devotional while searching for “Frey” on Amazon. Ever since reading Ann Groa’s “Frey, God of the World”, I’ve sought a spiritual side to her academic work (which I still goto). My first attempt was Joshua Tenpenny’s “Honey, Grain and Gold”. It did not really “do it” for me.

I admit, I’ve never read Nornoriel Lokason until this work. I have looked into Wanecraft and Vanatru, and his name has popped up attached to books I am interested in reading. Nornoriel is a ex-bride of Frey who spent many years as devout priest to him online and offline. This really impressed me, as Ive never spoken or met someone who had ever devoted themselves to a singular Aesir or Vanir.

When the Amazon box arrived, I burned right into it. What I got was a collection similar to Tenpenny’s book, but without the issues that rose from it. Lokason’s book is very personal, and a collection of previous digital publications he had published before. In 2015, many religious books are published in chapters online and this being a devotional is no exception. He is also an authority figure in Vanatru.

I was much more open to the stories inside the work from Lokason. This is a devotional. It’s a book written by someone with intimate encounters with him and I felt that when reading the book. Lokason, unlike Tenpenny (who she dedicates the book to), doesnt spent the words to describe intimate encounters involving god-horses and sex play. There is emphasis on Frey’s presence in the LGBT community. It wasn’t FRONT AND CENTER, like Tenpenny’s, but was mentioned. Frey being attributed to love and loving all life is boldly exclaimed in the work, something I agree with.

It focuses heavily on Frey’s sexual meaning. Frey is also attributed to peace, warrior-kings and the waning light (the sun is gold in the evening, Frey is The Golden One). There is much (MUCH) mention of Frey being attributed to sacrifice and the harvest. I do find myself more drawn to Frey in the fall (early-winter) and harvest time. Halloween and Thanksgiving seem like his domain as they are times of giving, peace, the harvest and the golden times before winter. Lokason’s description of Nerthus, Njord and Frey and their roles in ancient society felt more genuine and more thought out then Tenpenny’s (please understand, I am not bashing Tenpenny’s work, I just didn’t feel it jiving with Frey).

I found myself really drawn into the work, and agreeing with much of it. Lokason’s personal stories, while not mirroring any of mine, added meaning to his practice. The only drawback was the lack of information on Frey as a warrior. I will say it has inspired me to write my own devotional. Lokason’s devotional does indeed fill that empty area I was looking to fill after Groa’s work.

Someone seeking an academic look at Frey, will need to grab Groa’s work and balance it with Lokason’s. I don’t know if you’d call it “reading between the lines”, but the messages of ecology, loving all life, family love and the harvest and Frey’s love without restraint are all prominent and well explained. Lokason’s personal experiences frame them well.

~Thorendahl Freyrsson Songhammer

http://www.amazon.com/Peace-Good-Seasons-devotional-Frey/dp/1500900478/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1424811680&sr=8-3&keywords=nornoriel+lokason

